University of Canberra
Registrations now open - CURF Annual Forum 2017 - FREE EVENT
Posted 5 June 2017 11:06am


The date has now been selected for the CURF Annual Forum 2017.

When: Thursday 30 November 2017
Where: Ann Harding Conference Centre, Building 24, University of Canberra

'Towards a Carbon-Neutral Society: Canberra and the Region'

Canberra and the region have four major sources of emissions – energy, transport, the built environment and agriculture. We are tackling these challenges and have collectively commenced significant steps towards a carbon neutral society. The ACT target of 100% renewable energy by 2020 and the introduction of a mass transit light rail system are just two examples. However, there is still much to be done.

The 2017 CURF Forum will focus on implementing sustainable solutions for transforming to a carbon neutral society. Green growth, zero carbon precincts and innovative solutions to water, waste and energy will be presented and debated.

This very important discussion will provide a critical contribution to the next plans for Canberra and the wider region. We look forward to your participation in our future.

Professor Andrew Blakers has agreed to deliver the Keynote Address.  Andrew is Professor of Engineering at the Australian National University. His research interests include photovoltaic energy systems; silicon solar cell technology, solar concentrators, energy storage, integration and sustainable energy policy. He led the teams that developed PERC and Sliver cell technologies. He is a leading figure in discussions of 100% renewable energy futures, including pumped hydro energy storage.

This whole day event will be a free event with lunch, morning and afternoon tea provided.

REGISTRATION is now OPEN at the following link: REGISTRATION

Further information can be secured by emailing the 2017 CURF Forum Organisers David Flannery, Colette Gilmour and Anthony Burton:

The full list of speakers includes:

Andrew Blakers (Professor Engineering ANU)(Keynote), Shane Rattenbury (ACT Minister for Climate Change and Sustainability)(Keynote), Prof Deep Saini (UC Vice-Chancellor), Ben Ponton (Director-General ACT Environment Planning and Sustainable Development Directorate), David Maxwell (Riverview Group), Catherine Carter (Indigo Consulting), Steve Blume (Australian Institute of Energy), Fiona Smith Du Toit (ACT Transport Canberra & City Services Directorate), Prof Saul Cunningham (Fenner School ANU), Prof Kate Auty (ACT Commissioner for Sustainability & Environment), Prof Rob Roggema (University of Technology Sydney), Christopher Lee (CEO Climate-KIC Australia), Prof Hilary Bambrick (Head of School Faculty of Health QLD University of Technology), Anna Gurnhill (Active Travel Office, ACT Government), Dr Angus Finlay (Doctors for the Environment Australia), Dr Mark Stafford-Smith (CSIRO), Luke Osborne (Reposit Power), Prue Kelly (Clean Energy for Eternity, Tathra).



Keynote Speaker: Professor Andrew Blakers

← Back to listing